WishList Insider – Forum Focus 424

Some members cancel. This is a reality of membership sites.

There are many reasons why this can occur and you want to minimize the number of members who leave, but the fact remains some members will choose to cancel.

But it is also true that some members will return.

They may realize they miss what was being offered. There may be a change with their finances that allows them to come back.

For whatever reason, they have decided to come back to your site and restart their membership.

But what if they try to create a NEW account?

Reconnecting Returning Members With Existing Profiles

How can you make sure those existing members don’t create a brand new account when they come back? They should be able to simply restart their previous account and get right back into the action.

This will provide them with access to all the correct content.

So, all they need to do is restart their previous account, right?

While that is typically true, there can be times when a returning member doesn’t realize they can restart that old account. They may try to sign up as a new member and wind up with an old cancelled account and a new active account (or something in between).

These types of situations should be avoided as much as possible since it can mean part of their access it tied to a cancelled account. This can lead to confusion for a member who just made the choice to come back.

This forum thread touches on a few ideas on how to make this process easier.

There are a few things to keep in mind and we invite you to join the discussion.

Find out more by checking out this forum thread.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts